New Mexico Wage & Hour Laws

New Mexico Wages & Overtime


Minimum Wage

New Mexico’s minimum wage for non-tipped employees is $11.50 per hour and that rate will rise to $12 on January 1, 2023. The rate for tipped employees, which is currently $2.80, will increase to $3 on the same date.


Under state law, someone who collects at least $30 in tips monthly can be paid the tipped employee minimum wage, but their combined pay from wages and tips must equal the standard minimum wage of $11.50 per hour. Certain workers might not qualify as employees for the purposes of New Mexico’s minimum wage law, but those workers are likely entitled to the federal hourly minimum wage of $7.25.

The following cities and counties in New Mexico have different, higher minimum wage requirements than the rest of the state:

Albuquerque

  • Starting in 2022, the minimum hourly wage for tipped employees within Albuquerque is $6.90. For other workers, the statewide rate of $11.50 applies. For tipped employees, the sum of their hourly wages and tips per hour must equal at least $11.50.

Las Cruces

  • The tipped minimum wage in Las Cruces is $4.60, which when combined with tips must equal at least $11.50 per hour.

The City of Santa Fe & Santa Fe County

  • As of March 2021, the minimum wage rate for Santa Fe was set at $12.32 per hour and $6.39 per hour for tipped employees. Tipped employees must earn enough tips to bring their total wages to the minimum wage amount to at least $12.32.

Wage Payments

Overtime

Specific Exemptions

Meals & breaks in New Mexico

Holidays & vacation in New Mexico

New Mexico Meal Breaks & Rest Periods

Reporting time pay

Statute of limitations

Remedies, penalties & retaliation

Contact an Assertive Hour and Wage Lawyer Who Will Fight For You

When you need strong advocacy from a seasoned New Mexico hour and wage lawyer, trust Bustos Law Firm, P.C. Schedule a free consultation today by calling 806-541-4305 or contacting us online